As a teacher I honestly never expected to be able to work from home. I know a ton of teachers that absolutely despise it. Maybe it’s because I have nothing to compare it too but it’s not the worst thing. There are a lot of things I wasn’t prepared for nor was I expecting. IT is a ton of extra work having to do it online, (if this were a long term thing it would be easier the next year because this year we’ve made all the extra stuff). However, now that my mother in law is helping out a few times a week, it’s not so overwhelming. I have also found a good rhythm with work so it isn’t so overwhelming either.

On Fridays my mother in law is unavailable so me and the hubby alternate who has which toddler to take care of while working. It’s a divide and conquer kinda thing, and it works. On days that I have Sunday it is exceptionally hard but as she gets older it is getting a little easier. I just have to have numerous snacks available and a few easy to do crafts that if she eats it no big deal.

Dalton is easier I just set up a bunch of activities and he chooses them all. His supplies are in the ziplock bag and in his school box so he can grab and go on his own. We sit at the table together so that he’s not alone and in between direct instruction we can have brief conversations. We get to talk and enjoy each others company and then it’s back to work. I was able to get some clips from a day in my life working from home.

Do you work from home during this pandemic? If so what does that look like for you?